Sign in to follow this  
Wojo

Just picked up a 10/22 - Rotary Mag Concern

I picked up a stainless / synthetic 10/22 today from Dick's, along with a Tru-Glo Red dot and a few magazines. Question, do these rotary mags suck or what?

I know I am new to these things, but I had a couple of instances where the (I guess) recoil spring wasn't spinning the round up so the bolt could catch it. I'm thinking do I need to preload the spring, feed the squirrel, or is it a poor design. They were factory Ruger mags so they ought to be GTG.

Please share any collective wisdom on these mag's.

All in all, I was pretty happy how it shot. Windy as hell at CR today.

Strange...maybe I was fubar'ing it some how. It seemed to happen the first time or two I loaded two mags, the third didn't do it. As the time went on, it never happened again. I am glad that there aren't any known issues.

I've shot 10/22s for over 40 years and have had zero problems with the magazines.

I wish I could have had the time to buy an older style 10/22 instead of these rotary style configuration ones.

Here is a link to every link you need. One of the links shows you how to disassemble and reassemble the rotary magazine. It is not hard once you do it a few times. Your magazine may not be wound all the way up.

http://www.rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123409

• Like 1

I wish I could have had the time to buy an older style 10/22 instead of these rotary style configuration ones.

Always rotary mags in the 10/22. If you're looking for a 44 Ruger carbine with a tubular mag I may know someone.

Here is a link to every link you need. One of the links shows you how to disassemble and reassemble the rotary magazine. It is not hard once you do it a few times. Your magazine may not be wound all the way up.

http://www.rimfirece...ad.php?t=123409

Thanks for the link. That is what it felt like, not fully wound.

How much resistance should I feel loading the rounds in say when I get to 8, 9 or 10?