zoid

Crimping and Seating Problems

Hey guys. I'm a little new to reloading. Been doing it for a year and running into an issue.

I'm using a Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Loader. I'm loading Berry's 200gr Hollow Points. I've

got the OAL set at around 1.22". I set the crimp going by the Lee Reloading Manual (the book).

The first 20-40 rounds went fine, then when I got to the crimp/seat die I'd feel a lot of resistance.

I'd follow through anyways (which I should not have) and when the round came out it looked like this:

IMG_1739.JPG

I think I may have set the crimp too tight in messing around with bullet depth/crimp. Also

I suspect my flare die may have been set too deep cause the casing to flare out too much

causing the resistance. I did back off the crimp and the flare which helped, but the thing

is the issue would come back every 10 rounds or so.

Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong and how to fix the issue?

If you were over-flaring, the mouth would fold. If you were seating too deep, nothing would happen visually except a deep seated bullet and high pressure. You are over-crimping. Try backing your crimp out a hair. When I was adjusting the dies for my 500 S&W for maximum crimp I just kept going down untill it bulged the case and it looked exactly the same as yours. Back out a hair and they dont bulge anymore and I know im getting the maximum crimp possible. You dont need that much crimp, though.

Thanks Glenn, I think in the end the most effecting thing was backing the crimp off. In my head

I felt it was not crimped enough but I guess it was all along.

Mel, I wasn't sure exactly which data to go off of since there is nothing specific for Hollow Points

that I could find. I went off Accurate's load data, the Lee Reloading Manual, and the Hogden website

to kind of find the closest to what I was working with. 1.22 seemed to be the general min I could find,

some were lower at 1.19, but I don't want to go that low. I'm using 5.7gr Accurate #2.