m3coupe4me

'Compact' models legal?

I am not a lawyer, nor a LEO, but that is the first time I have heard that. There are length of barrel restrictions on rifles and shotguns, but NOT on pistols. Plus firearms dealers all over the state carry compact models, so I am going to say that they are legal. The thing to keep in mind with handguns in the magazine capacity can not exceed 15 rounds. I'm not familiar with Glocks, but if it's a compact model I do not believe it can hold 15, so you should be fine.

Yes. The main restriction is a mag limit of 15 rounds. There are some other rules but they don't apply to a Glock 23 since it doesn't have them.

Basically if a dealer will sell it to you, it's legal in NJ.

Maybe you where misinformed about some small pistols which are not allowed to be imported into the country. For instance, the G25 and G28 which are .380. They don't meet the federal laws to qualify for importation.

But as others have said, any "compact" model that is either made in the country, or is already here, is fair game. Did you ever see how small the Ruger LCP is? You could just about shoot your own finger off with it :lol::lol:

i heard about your laws and didn't hear that. why woudl you want a compact if you can't conceal carry it anyways? i'd prefer a duty size if i use it for range purpouses. a compact is good if you travel to places where you can carry. when i'm outside of pennsylvania or when i'm somewhere like a bar, i pack a 38 special... i only shoot enough of it to have an accurate shot. i prefer my smith and wesson .40 cal duty size (still 15 mag so i can take it to a range in the people's republic) for target shooting because it is more accurate and easier to handle. if the mag standard is usualy more than 15, then you can get the california legal 10 round mags.