Sign in to follow this  
mikelets456

My wife's .38 S&W 686 is "killing" me!!!

Can someone suggest where to get .38 range ammo for less than $18 a box? Gosh, my range has HD JHP for $20 a box, Dicks is $19 for range ammo and online is $14 plus shipping, etc and ends up being $19 a box. I am used to 9mm at $10 a box.... this is killing me as she wants to go to the range more!! i was hoping for 500 rounds at $120 or so....

for less than a $100.00 dollar investment you could buy a used press , new mold , primers + powder and have her have her reload her own for between $.05 + $.15 per round -

(Where, where, how, etc? I have always been "afraid" of reloading in case I screw up and someone gets hurt.... am I over reacting?)

i have been reloading for over 45 years - never a problem - i even used to let my 13 + 14 year old daughters load under my supervision - perfectly safe as long as you pay attention + don't let yourself be distracted - if you can follow a recipe + work a computer key board you can reload better quality + more versatile ammo than you can buy -

(Where, where, how, etc? I have always been "afraid" of reloading in case I screw up and someone gets hurt.... am I over reacting?)

i have been reloading for over 45 years - never a problem - i even used to let my 13 + 14 year old daughters load under my supervision - perfectly safe as long as you pay attention + don't let yourself be distracted - if you can follow a recipe + work a computer key board you can reload better quality + more versatile ammo than you can buy -

+1 agreed I bet you can start up as cheap as $150 and cheaper if you buy used equipment. I'll donate cases if you want to get started.

If you use a single stage press it is simpler. You need about 16-20 square foot max and safe storage of supplies is easy. Single stage press you can load about 100 rounds an hour no sweat.