db1775

Anyone here down load your AR magazines?

I'm new to ARs and have a question about magazines not seating. I have a few 20 round pmags modified to only accept 15 rounds and I cannot get a fully-loaded magazine to seat in the mag well of my M&P15 with the bolt forward. I can get it to seat with some extra effort if I only load to 13-14 rounds

So:

1) Is this normal/expected behavior for an AR to not accept a fully loaded magazine if the bolt is forward?

2) Do any of you guys have experience with this, and do you down load the magazine?

Thanks for your help!

Dan

Modified magazines, regardless of the type (polymer or metal), tend to have a tighter fit compared to the stock-magazines. This is often times because of the respective procedure that the producer uses when putting the modified magazines together to only accept 15 rounds max. Stock/non-pinned magazines can have some extra play to them (the good type), and are easier to seat even if the magazine is filled to capacity and the bolt is forward.

So, to answer your questions, I would say that since we, NJ residents, are limited to 15 round magazines, and the only available type are modified magazines-- the tight fit should be expected (and honestly, it's not a bad thing as I'd rather have a tight fit compared to a loose fit in which that 16th round might be able to be squeezed in).

And secondly, Uncle Sam taught me to download a round or two regardless of the magazine or firearm it's being used for-- but most notably with the AR-pattern rifles. So, I have a bias response to that question anyway.

Ultimately, as the end user, you will have more then one magazine on hand anyway-- whether it's at the range, competition, or in the home. Maxing it at 15 vs. having multiple magazines; I'll take multiple magazines, even if they're only loaded for like 10, because magazines can tend to fail... and that one magazine with 15 crammed rounds isn't of much benefit, nor is the rifle, if it isn't working as intended.