Maksim

Self taught or took a class?

Here is a question that always popped into my head. With all of the hoping for CCW, most states require formal training for one, or at least should. In NJ, you dont need to show any proof of training to receive your Firearms ID card, so how did you learn to shoot? Moreso, who went out and received formal training from the likes of Anthony (GunforHire) or Mitch(High Calibre Firearms Training).

Here is a question that always popped into my head. With all of the hoping for CCW, most states require formal training for one, or at least should. In NJ, you dont need to show any proof of training to receive your Firearms ID card, so how did you learn to shoot? Moreso, who went out and received formal training from the likes of Anthony (GunforHire) or Mitch(High Calibre Firearms Training).

Informal lesson 15 yrs ago from my cousin

A little instruction from the RSO at TBH

otherwise, self taught.

My father in law was an NRA instructor and competitive shooter. He taught the whole family how to shoot, and once he retired to FL, it was considered "required family time" to go to the range with him at least once a day whenever we visited.

K

Never had seen any firearm in person until my Army days. Formal training for AR's and other US weapons (SAW, M203's, etc) during basic, basic armory duties during brief S4 stint, and got to do other somewhat informal training for other US systems (M19, M2, M24). Had weapon quals and training quarterly.