hheat

Hello from Brick, First gun suggestions

Ooops, i meant to post this in the "welcome" part of the forum! :icon_redface:

Hello everybody,

My name is Ken I'm 22 years old, just graduated college, looking to purchase my first firearm, and want to exercise my 2nd amendment right!

I have been shooting for a couple of years now and have taken classes at my local range for firearms safety. I really wanted to apply for my FID card as soon as i turned 18 but i never really got around to doing it. Just last week i applied for my FID card at my local police department and went to the private finger printing facility to have my prints taken (boy do they make it a challenge haha). I applied for both an FID card and a handgun permit.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section (I'm clearly a newbie) but i need some suggestions about my first gun which is defiantly going to be a handgun. I have talked to some friends and many suggest a Glock .40 cal due to their durability and the fact they are easy to take apart and clean. My neighbor basically demands that i purchase a glock for my first gun, hes says they can basically fire "dry". My brother owns a glock and i really dont like the way the gun shoots or feels in my hand. I have shot many different hand guns and my favorites are a Beretta .40 and a 1911 .45 . I love how comfortable the Beretta is and i have always loved 1911's (everything about them).

So my question to you guys is, what would you suggest for a first hand gun. Please, any suggestions are welcome.

Oh, and my budget is about a thousand dollars.

Thanks alot and i look forward to gaining more knowledge from this forum

Ken

Ooops, i meant to post this in the "welcome" part of the forum! :icon_redface:

Hello everybody,

My name is Ken I'm 22 years old, just graduated college, looking to purchase my first firearm, and want to exercise my 2nd amendment right!