gunnarsport

How often you go to range?

Hi,

As a complete beginner here to handguns, I will have LOTS of questions as I start my process for FID/permit with my local police dept. I am in

Robbinsville, Mercer County.

So I was wondering how often does the typical NJGF handgun enthusiast go to the range to shoot....once a week?, every 2 weeks?, once a month??

I am just wondering how expensive this new hobby will be for me! And do I have to join a range with a yearly membership fee, or are there range

where you can just pay as you shoot?

I am purchasing my handgun strictly for recreational fun range shooting, hopefully both indoors and outdoors and maybe someday, being involved

in friendly competitive shooting. I DO NOT think I will have the gun set in my home up for self defense, as I am in extremely safe area and community.

Thanks

Michael

So I was wondering how often does the typical NJGF handgun enthusiast go to the range to shoot....once a week?, every 2 weeks?, once a month??

I try to go once a week/once every other week

I am just wondering how expensive this new hobby will be for me! And do I have to join a range with a yearly membership fee, or are there range

You can do either, but most private clubs will REQUIRE a membership but the upside is that you dont pay when you shoot. For example, bullet hole is ~$15/hour to shoot every time you go there. I pay $45 a year for 365 day/year unlimited access to a handgun range in bridgewater. It pays for itself after 3 hours/year!

As a total cheap a**, I will pipe in here.

I try to go every week. I shoot about 50-100 rds per if 9mm. From there it really depends on caliber. .45... maybe 50. Same with 10mm. I will try to make my practice really count for more with those calibers.

Rifle, totally depends on caliber versus current inventory in hy house. If I had 30-06 I would be stingy with it. 5.56... somewhat blaze away.